The Mill River Recluse

Author
Darcie Chan 
Summary
<b>The sensational <i>New York Times </i>bestseller <i>The Mill River Recluse</i> reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.</b><br /><br />From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. <br /> &#xa0;<br /> But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River—including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest—who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O’Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated—and that, once revealed, will forever change the community.<br /> &#xa0;<br /> <b>Praise for <i>The Mill River Recluse</i></b><br /> &#xa0;<br /> “[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”<b>—<i>Kirkus Reviews</i></b><br /> <i>&#xa0;</i><br /> “A heartwarming story.”<b>—<i>Examiner<br /></i></b><br />“A real page-turner.”<b><i>—IndieReader</i></b>
Genre
Fiction & Literature  Books 
Price
$2.99
Average User Rating
4.5
User Rating Count
50
Release Date
2011-05-18


About This Site  Privacy Policy

© OKIHIKA.COM

the Apple logo, iPhone, iPod touch, and iTunes are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.