The Immortalists

Author
Chloe Benjamin 
Summary
<b>INSTANT <i>NEW YORK TIMES</i> BESTSELLER<br /><br />“A captivating family saga.”—<i>The&#xa0;New York Times Book Review<br /></i><br />“You won’t be able&#xa0;to put it down.”<i><b>—<i>The&#xa0;Skimm </i></b></i><b><b>(Skimm Reads Pick)</b></b><br /><br />“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—<i>People </i>Magazine (Book of the Week)</b><br /><br /><b>“A sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—<i>Entertainment Weekly</i> (The Must List)</b><br /><br /><b>A dazzling family love story reminiscent of <i>Everything I Never Told You</i> from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a “great new talent.”</b><i><br /><br />If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?</i><br /><br />It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.<br /><br />The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.<br /><br />A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, <i>The Immortalists</i> probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.
Genre
Literary  Books  Fiction & Literature  Family 
Price
$12.99
Average User Rating
4.0
User Rating Count
138
Release Date
2018-01-09


About This Site  Privacy Policy

© OKIHIKA.COM

the Apple logo, iPhone, iPod touch, and iTunes are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.