Chloe Benjamin

1 The Immortalists

Author : Chloe Benjamin
Genre :  Literary  Books  Fiction & Literature  Family 
Price :  $12.99
Release Date :  2018-01-09
Description :  <b>INSTANT <i>NEW YORK TIMES</i> BESTSELLER<br /><br />“A captivating family saga.”—<i>The&#xa0;New York Times Book Review<br /></i><br />“You won’t be able&#xa0;to put it down.”<i><b>—<i>The&#xa0;Skimm </i></b></i><b><b>(Skimm Reads Pick)</b></b><br /><br />“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—<i>People </i>Magazine (Book of the Week)</b><br /><br /><b>“A sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—<i>Entertainment Weekly</i> (The Must List)</b><br /><br /><b>A dazzling family love story reminiscent of <i>Everything I Never Told You</i> from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a “great new talent.”</b><i><br /><br />If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?</i><br /><br />It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.<br /><br />The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.<br /><br />A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, <i>The Immortalists</i> probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

2 The Anatomy of Dreams

Author : Chloe Benjamin
Genre :  Mysteries & Thrillers  Books  Fiction & Literature  Literary 
Price :  $11.99
Release Date :  2014-09-16
Description :  <b>Winner of the Edna Ferber Prize</b><br /><br /> <b><b>Long-listed for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize</b></b><br /><br /> <b>“A sly, promising and ambitious debut.” —<i>Publishers Weekly</i><br /><br /> “Chloe Benjamin is a great new talent.” —Lorrie Moore, author of <i>Bark: Stories</i></b><br /><br />It’s 1998, and Sylvie Patterson, a bookish student at a Northern California boarding school, falls in love with a spirited, elusive classmate named Gabe. Their headmaster, Dr. Adrian Keller, is a charismatic medical researcher who has staked his career on the therapeutic potential of lucid dreaming: By teaching his patients to become conscious during sleep, he helps them to relieve stress and heal from trauma. Over the next six years, Sylvie and Gabe become consumed by Keller’s work, following him from the redwood forests of Eureka, California, to the enchanting New England coast.<br /><br /> But when an opportunity brings the trio to the Midwest, Sylvie and Gabe stumble into a tangled relationship with their mysterious neighbors—and Sylvie begins to doubt the ethics of Keller’s research, recognizing the harm that can be wrought under the guise of progress. As she navigates the hazy, permeable boundaries between what is real and what isn’t, who can be trusted and who cannot, Sylvie also faces surprising developments in herself: an unexpected infatuation, growing paranoia, and a new sense of rebellion.<br /><br /> In stirring, elegant prose, Benjamin’s tale exposes the slippery nature of trust—and the immense power of our dreams.

3 Les Immortalistes

Author : Chloe Benjamin
Genre :  Literary  Books  Fiction & Literature 
Price :  $10.99
Release Date :  2018-04-04
Description :  À San Francisco, il pourrait exister pour lui-même. Et même s’il n’aime pas penser à ça, le moment est venu de se poser la question : et si la femme de Helster Street avait raison ? Cette simple éventualité prête une tout autre couleur à sa vie, et tout semble alors urgent, scintillant, précieux.<br /><br /><b>New York, été 1969</b>. Pour tromper l’ennui, les enfants Gold ne trouvent rien de mieux à faire que d’aller consulter une voyante capable de prédire avec exactitude la date de leur mort. Si Varya, Daniel, Klara et Simon veulent tous savoir de quoi demain sera fait, ils sont loin de se douter de ce qui les attend. Des années plus tard, hantés par la prophétie, ils vont faire des choix de vie radicalement opposés.<br /><br />Lorsque le premier d’entre eux trouve la mort à la date annoncée par la voyante, les trois autres craignent le pire. Doivent-ils prendre au sérieux cette prémonition ? N’est-ce la puissance de l’autosuggestion qui pousse les Gold à faire des choix qui les conduisent irrémédiablement vers leur mort ?<br /><br /> <b>Fresque de grande envergure, à l’ambition et à la profondeur remarquables, <i>Les Immortalistes</i> se situe entre le destin et le libre arbitre, le réel et l’illusion, l’ici-bas et l’au-delà. Une ode magnifique à ce qui nous échappe et à la force implacable des liens familiaux.</b>

4 La anatomía de los sueños

Author : Chloe Benjamin
Genre :  Fiction & Literature  Books  Health, Mind & Body  Health & Fitness  Sci-Fi & Fantasy  Science Fiction 
Price :  $2.99
Release Date :  2015-08-13
Description :  <b>NOVELA GANADORA DEL PREMIO EDNA FERBER</b><br /><br /><b>SELECCIONADA PARA EL PREMIO FLAHERTY-DUNNAN A LA MEJOR NOVELA DEBUT</b><br /><br />En 1998 Sylvie Patterson, estudiante de un internado en California, se enamora de su compañero de salón, Gabe, un chico tan vivaz como misterioso. Él es el protegido de su carismático director, el doctor Adrian Keller, un científico que ha basado su carrera en el estudio del potencial terapéutico de los sueños lúcidos: sus pacientes pueden superar sus traumas aprendiendo a seguir conscientes mientras sueñan. Años después, Sylvie decide seguir a Gabe, que se ha convertido en un devoto de Keller y su causa.<br /><br />&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0;&#xa0; Pero cuando la oportunidad de conseguir financiamiento para su investigación los lleva a una ciudad del medio oeste, sus vidas se ven afectadas por la llegada de unos enigmáticos vecinos. Sylvie empieza a dudar de la ética del trabajo de Keller, reconociendo que el progreso científico también puede causar mucho daño. En la neblinosa y permeable frontera que separa lo real de lo que no lo es, Sylvie tiene que afrontar sorprendentes cambios en sí misma: una pasión imprevista, una creciente paranoia y una alarmante rebeldía.

5 Los inmortales

Author : Chloe Benjamin
Genre :  Fiction & Literature  Books 
Price :  $11.99
Release Date :  2018-04-13
Description :  «Un gran thriller literario».<br />—Richard Russo, ganador del Premio Pulitzer<br /><br />«Una cautivadora saga familiar»<br />—<i>The New York Times</i><br /><br />En 1969, en un barrio de Nueva York, se rumora la llegada de una adivina que asegura conocer el día de la muerte de las personas. Los hermanos Gold, a pesar de su corta edad, deciden ir y escuchar lo que les depara el futuro.<br /><br />Las profecías narran sus próximas cinco décadas: Simon escapa en busca de amor al San Francisco de los ochenta; Klara, la soñadora, se convierte en una maga en Las Vegas, siempre obsesionada con la delgada línea que separa la realidad de la fantasía; Daniel, busca seguridad como médico militar después de los atentados del 11 de septiembre; finalmente, Varya, la devoradora de libros, se sumerge en una investigación sobre la longevidad, poniendo a prueba la ciencia y la inmortalidad.<br /><br />Una novela profunda y ambiciosa que juega con las preguntas que todos nos hemos formulado alguna vez: ¿Qué tanto influyen nuestras decisiones en nuestro destino? ¿Existe una vida después de la muerte? ¿Qué papel tienen nuestros sueños en la realidad?<i> Los inmortales</i> es una conmovedora celebración del poder que tienen nuestras creencias y los inquebrantables lazos familiares.



About This Site  Privacy Policy

© OKIHIKA.COM

the Apple logo, iPhone, iPod touch, and iTunes are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.