Darcie Chan

1 The Mill River Recluse

Author : Darcie Chan
Genre :  Fiction & Literature  Books 
Price :  $2.99
Release Date :  2011-05-18
Description :  <b>The sensational <i>New York Times </i>bestseller <i>The Mill River Recluse</i> reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.</b><br /><br />From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. <br /> &#xa0;<br /> But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River—including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest—who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O’Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated—and that, once revealed, will forever change the community.<br /> &#xa0;<br /> <b>Praise for <i>The Mill River Recluse</i></b><br /> &#xa0;<br /> “[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”<b>—<i>Kirkus Reviews</i></b><br /> <i>&#xa0;</i><br /> “A heartwarming story.”<b>—<i>Examiner.com<br /></i></b><br />“A real page-turner.”<b><i>—IndieReader</i></b>

2 The Mill River Redemption

Author : Darcie Chan
Genre :  Fiction & Literature  Books 
Price :  $5.99
Release Date :  2014-08-26
Description :  <b><i>New York Times </i>bestselling author Darcie Chan returns to the enchanting town of Mill River in a heartwarming novel of family, self-discovery, and forgiveness. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.</b><br /> <b>&#xa0;</b><br />Josie DiSanti is starting over. Recently widowed, she has fled her New York City home with her two young daughters—spirited Rose and shy Emily—in tow. She takes refuge in Mill River, Vermont, to live with her only remaining relative, Ivy Collard, the local bookstore owner and a woman Josie barely knows. There, the young mother and her girls build a new life for themselves—until a shocking tragedy tears the sisters apart.<br /> &#xa0;<br /> Years later, Josie’s still-estranged daughters return to the quiet town for the reading of their mother’s will, which stipulates that they must work together to locate a hidden key to a safe-deposit box containing their inheritance. Even from the great beyond, it seems Josie will do anything to bring about her daughters’ reconciliation. Having no choice but to go along with their mother’s final wishes, Rose and Emily move back to Mill River for the summer to begin the search—discovering that, in the close-knit community known for magic and miracles, an even greater treasure awaits them.<br /><br /><b>Praise for <i>The Mill River Redemption</i></b><br /> <b><i>&#xa0;</i></b><br />“Delving into the complicated roles of siblings, parents, and neighbors, [Darcie] Chan gives each Mill River character a powerful role in refining and influencing these dynamics.”<b>—<i>New York Journal of Books</i></b><br /><br />“Darcie Chan paints a vivid and loving portrait of the kind of small town we all wished we lived in. This layered tale of two estranged sisters brought together by a mother’s love will make you laugh, cry, cheer, hug your loved ones a little tighter. An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who make you feel more fully alive.”<b>—Elizabeth Letts, #1 <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of <i>The Eighty-Dollar Champion<br /></i></b><br />“Readers looking for a feel-good book about small towns and family bonds won’t be disappointed by Chan’s latest.”<b>—<i>Kirkus Reviews</i></b><br /> <b><i>&#xa0;</i></b><br /> “An engrossing page-turner, reeling readers in further with each layer that’s revealed . . . a satisfying read with sympathetic and relatable characters that will be good for book group discussions and vacation reading.”<b>—<i>Library Journal</i></b><br /> &#xa0;<br /> “Charming . . . compelling . . . Slow reveals and dramatic twists proliferate.”<b>—<i>Booklist</i></b><br /><br /> <b>Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.</b><br /><br /><i>From the Trade Paperback edition.</i>

3 The Promise of Home

Author : Darcie Chan
Genre :  Fiction & Literature  Books 
Price :  $5.99
Release Date :  2015-08-04
Description :  <b>Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author Darcie Chan returns readers to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship—and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches.</b><br /><br />These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hive of activity. Karen Cooper bids farewell to her husband, Nick, as he leaves for Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to beloved nonagenarian Father O’Brien for counsel. Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding—until a new acquaintance threatens their romance. Emily DiSanti, haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload. All these lives—and the lives of others in this small town—move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. And when a cache of letters is discovered, a powerful and unexpected secret comes to light—one rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime priest who has touched the lives of everyone in Mill River.<br /><br /><b>Praise for <i>The Promise of Home</i></b><br /><br />“Chan has once again told a mesmerizing tale about how difficult yet beautiful navigating the river of life can be. This author is, quite simply, an amazing storyteller.”<b>—Fredericksburg <i>Free Lance–Star</i></b><br /><br />“Difficult to put down . . . [a] celebration of the healing power of community.”<b>—<i>Booklist</i></b><br /><br /> “Who better to satisfy [summer] reader cravings than Darcie Chan. . . . Read on—and keep turning those pages [until you] find yourself looking forward to Darcie Chan’s next novel. Whew.”<b>—<i>Hudson Valley News</i></b><br /><br />“This serene backdrop is the perfect juxtaposition to the internal turmoil of Karen Cooper. Together the townsfolk make a well-rounded novel full of desperation, hope and redemption. This is a beautiful addition to the Mill River series, yet also reads well as a stand-alone novel.”<b>—<i>RT Book Reviews</i></b><br /><br /> “[A] layered and heartwarming novel that intertwines a number of engaging contemporary storylines and intersperses them with . . . fascinating insights and historical details along the way. A light-handed affirmation of the power of love, faith, and community.”<b>—<i>Kirkus Reviews</i></b><br /><br /> <b>Praise for Darcie Chan’s <i>The Mill River Redemption</i></b><br /><br /> “An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who makes you feel more fully alive.”<b>—Elizabeth Letts, author of <i>The Eighty-Dollar Champion</i></b><br /><br /> “An engrossing page-turner [with] sympathetic and relatable characters.”<b><i>—Library Journal</i></b><br /><i><br /></i><b>Praise for<i> The Mill River Recluse</i></b><br /><br /> “A heartwarming story.”<b>—<i>Examiner.com</i></b><br /><br /> “Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”<b>—<i>Kirkus Reviews</i></b><br /><br /> “A real page-turner.”<b>—<i>IndieReader</i></b><br /><br /> “Chan does an amazing job with pacing while maintaining continuity and weaving universal themes such as friendship, love, new beginnings and overcoming adversities into small town life.”<b>—<i>RT Book Reviews</i></b><br /><br /> “This debut novel is a genre-breaking thriller with romantic overtones that should appeal to both men and women.”<b>—<i>Huntington News<br /></i></b><br /> <b>Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.</b><br /><br /><i>From the Trade Paperback edition.</i>

4 Marys hemmelighed

Author : Darcie Chan
Genre :  Fiction & Literature  Books 
Price :  $30.99
Release Date :  2014-04-12
Description :  Mary McAllister, skamferet af et slag fra sin afdøde mand, har tilbragt næsten 60 år isoleret i det såkaldte ’Marmorpalæ’, med udsigt over byen Mill River i Vermont. Hendes forbindelse til omverdenen består udelukkende af posten, medierne, og en aldrende præst med hang til at stjæle skeer.<br /> Beboerne i byen betragter Mary som ejendommelig, men dog som en fast del af deres samfund. En pyroman, en begærlig sygeplejerske, og den charmende landsbytosse er blandt de få der nogensinde har set Mary. Men det er kun præsten Michael O’Brien, der kender Mary og hendes hemmelighed—en hemmelighed der, hvis den kommer for dagen, vil ændre alle deres liv for altid.

5 Sehnsucht nach Mill River

Author : Darcie Chan
Genre :  Fiction & Literature  Books 
Price :  $10.99
Release Date :  2013-09-27
Description :  Seit Jahren lebt Mary zurückgezogen auf ihrem großzügigen Anwesen oberhalb von Mill River. Nur Priester Michael besucht sie und erzählt ihr vom Leben in der quirligen Stadt: Von dem verwitweten Polizisten, der mit seiner kleinen Tochter aus der Großstadt geflüchtet ist, von der Krankenschwester, die ihre Familie mühselig über Wasser hält, und von der ungewöhnlichen Daisy, die in ihrem Wohnwagen geheimnisvolle Kräutertees braut. Niemand ahnt, welches Leid Mary erlebt hat. Aber als sie tödlich erkrankt, beginnt sie mit der Suche nach ihrer Tochter.

6 Sommer der Versöhnung

Author : Darcie Chan
Genre :  Fiction & Literature  Books 
Price :  $10.99
Release Date :  2015-02-27
Description :  "Meine Töchter, ihr seid mein Ein und Alles. Dass ausgerechnet ihr euch nicht mehr versteht, ist für mich unbegreiflich. Ich weiß, dass ihr beide schrecklich gelitten habt. Doch nun ist die Zeit gekommen, all das endlich hinter euch zu lassen. Eure Mutter Josie" Emily und Rose waren unzertrennlich, bis ein tödlicher Unfall ihre Leben zerstörte. Emily gab Rose die Schuld an dem schrecklichen Unglück, und Rose drohte unter dieser Last zu zerbrechen. Beide Schwestern haben Mill River schon vor Jahren den Rücken gekehrt. Erst der Abschiedsbrief ihrer Mutter bringt sie wieder zusammen. Das Erbe der Mutter wird ihnen nur gehören, wenn sie sich versöhnt haben und gemeinsam eine Aufgabe lösen, die in Mill River auf sie wartet.



About This Site  Privacy Policy

© OKIHIKA.COM

the Apple logo, iPhone, iPod touch, and iTunes are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.