Abraham Verghese

1 When Breath Becomes Air

Author : Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese
Genre :  Biographies & Memoirs  Books  Nonfiction  Social Science  Philosophy 
Price :  $12.99
Release Date :  2016-01-12
Description :  <b>#1&#xa0;<i>NEW YORK TIMES</i>&#xa0;BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST •&#xa0;<b><b><b>For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question&#xa0;<i>What makes a life worth living?</i></b></b></b></b><br /><br /> <b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY</b><br /> <b><i>The New York Times Book Review •&#xa0;People • </i>NPR<i> •&#xa0;The Washington Post •&#xa0;Slate •&#xa0;Harper’s Bazaar •&#xa0;Esquire&#xa0;•&#xa0;Time Out New York •&#xa0;Publishers Weekly •&#xa0;BookPage</i></b><br /><br /> <b>Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir</b><br /><br />At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. <i>When Breath Becomes Air</i> chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.<br /><br /> What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.<br /><br /> Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” <i>When Breath Becomes Air</i> is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

2 Cutting for Stone

Author : Abraham Verghese
Genre :  Literary  Books  Fiction & Literature  Family 
Price :  $10.99
Release Date :  2009-02-03
Description :  <b>A sweeping, emotionally riveting novel with over one million copies sold—an enthralling family saga of Africa and America, doctors and patients, exile and home.</b><br /><br />Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between a beautiful Indian nun and a brash British surgeon. Orphaned by their mother’s death and their father’s disappearance, bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine, the twins come of age as Ethiopia hovers on the brink of revolution. <br /><br />Moving from Addis Ababa to New York City and back again,&#xa0;<i>Cutting for Stone</i>&#xa0;is an unforgettable story of love and betrayal, medicine and ordinary miracles—and two brothers whose fates are forever intertwined.

3 My Own Country

Author : Abraham Verghese
Genre :  Social Science  Books  Nonfiction 
Price :  $8.99
Release Date :  2016-11-15
Description :  The memoir and first book from the author of the beloved <i>New York Times</i> bestseller <i>Cutting for Stone</i>.<br /><br />Nestled in the Smoky Mountains of eastern Tennessee, the town of Johnson City had always seemed exempt from the anxieties of modern American life. But when the local hospital treated its first AIDS patient, a crisis that had once seemed an “urban problem” had arrived in the town to stay.<br /><br />Working in Johnson City was Abraham Verghese, a young Indian doctor specializing in infectious diseases. Dr. Verghese became by necessity the local AIDS expert, soon besieged by a shocking number of male and female patients whose stories came to occupy his mind, and even take over his life. Verghese brought a singular perspective to Johnson City: as a doctor unique in his abilities; as an outsider who could talk to people suspicious of local practitioners; above all, as a writer of grace and compassion who saw that what was happening in this conservative community was both a medical and a spiritual emergency.<br /><br />Out of his experience comes a startling but ultimately uplifting portrait of the American heartland as it confronts—and surmounts—its deepest prejudices and fears.



About This Site  Privacy Policy

© OKIHIKA.COM

the Apple logo, iPhone, iPod touch, and iTunes are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.